Language Levels Explained

Have you ever wondered what language levels, A1,A2,B1,B2,C1 and C3 mean?

The Common European Framework divides learners into three broad divisions which can be divided into six levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 & C3

Basic Speaker
A1 Breakthrough or beginner
A2 Waystage or elementary
Independent Speaker
B1 Threshold or intermediate
B2 Vantage or upper intermediate
Proficient Speaker
C1 Effective Operational Proficiency or advanced
C2 Mastery or proficiency

The Common European Framework describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing at each level:

european language level a1

Can understand everyday expressions and basic phrases and can introduce themselves, ask & answer basic questions interacting when the other person speaks slowly.

european language level a2

Understands sentences and everyday expressions, describing the situation around and communicate simply

european language level b1

Confident in day to day encounters and situations where the language is spoken and can make descriptions and opinions.

european language level b2

Interacts fluently with native speakers and being able to debate issues for both sides

european language level c1

Fluent expression without much effort.

european language level c2

Understands everything read and heard and great ability to express themselves fluently and with precision.